What Vegans Should Know About Eating At Subway

Subway sandwiches feel like the quick go-to option when you're hungry and in need of something that'll fill you right up. Even better if there are lots of vegetables and crispy bread involved, right? One of the most-loved restaurants across the globe has maintained its popularity since its inception in 1965 (per Entrepreneur). With over 44,000 restaurants globally, Subway is undoubtedly a popular choice for diners looking for a quick, easy meal. 

Subway's founder, Fred DeLuca, was only 17 when he kickstarted his sandwich store in Bridgeport, Connecticut. He aimed to use his earnings from Subway to support his medical school bills. He borrowed money from a family friend, Dr. Peter Buck. Despite not knowing much about sandwiches, the duo were successful in their mission, selling 312 sandwiches on their first day, reports Buzzfeed.

Through the years, Subway has evolved as a brand, adapting to customer preferences and the demands of a shifting marketplace. Nevertheless, like many fast-food restaurants, it can be a tricky place to dine if you follow a vegan diet. Here's why. 

Be careful what you order

As explained by Women's Health, there are hidden ingredients to watch out for when you are a vegan trying to avoid animal products at Subway. For example, casein products, made from milk protein, are commonly used in salad dressing and other sauces. The same story applies to whey, another milk protein, which can be a part of products like cookies and bread. Honey is another no-no and often appears in desserts, bread, vinaigrettes, and more.

The key is to order a well-balanced meal with a good amount of protein, fat and carbohydrates while sticking to trustworthy vegan ingredients. According to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), the restaurant does have several vegan bread options, such as 9-Grain Wheat, Roasted Garlic, Italian (White Bread), Sourdough bread, and others.

The next step is easy: adding your vegetables to the sandwich. All raw vegetables at Subway are vegan. Lots (though not all) of the dressings offered by Subway are vegan, including yellow mustard, deli brown mustard, mustard seed spread, vinegar and subway vinaigrette, sweet onion sauce, oil ,and fat-free Italian dressing. Just remember to keep these options in mind while customizing your next order at Subway.