Why Vegans Might Want To Avoid Cracker Barrel's French Fries

There are only a few menu offerings that Cracker Barrel has for its vegan and vegetarian customers. A couple of options include plain baked potatoes and salads — which customers still have to order personalized to avoid animal products from being added (via Vegan Calm).

While there is a running joke amongst the plant-based community to rely on french fries at popular chain restaurants, certain members can't count on Cracker Barrel to be one of them (via MeShell).

That's right, this classic menu item isn't considered "vegan" at Cracker Barrel. The reason is actually surprisingly similar to why certain vegans avoid Oreos, which are produced in the same facilities as milk products (via Women's Health Mag). So while those who adhere to veganism or vegetarianism for environmental reasons might be able to consume Cracker Barrel's french fries, those who are allergic to certain animal products might want to order another side at the restaurant.

There is a chance of cross-contamination

Vegan Calm states that Cracker Barrel's french fries fit some people's definition of veganism, but advises others who are worried about the oil and fryer they are cooked in should avoid them. The fries are cooked in soybean oil, which doesn't contain animal products, but has questionable health benefits, as it is linked to diabetes and obesity.

Other chain restaurants such as McDonald's have also been under fire for also cooking their fries in animal fat, despite the actual ingredients being vegan friendly (via Choose Veganism). However, it is unclear if other non-vegan items are cooked in the same fryers at Cracker Barrel.

According to GoDairyFree, Cracker Barrel cautions its plant-based patrons that some items containing milk might be fried in the same fryer as vegan items. Therefore, by some definitions of veganism, Cracker Barrel's fries can't be considered vegan.

But if cross-contamination isn't a problem due to allergies or other ethical reasons, Cracker Barrel's fries do not inherently contain any meat products and do fit certain definitions of veganism.