The Only Baskin-Robbins Flavor That Isn't Kosher

Who doesn't love Baskin-Robbins? If you can't answer in the affirmative, don't answer. This brand has been around since 1945 and has both the celebrity and common man following. Per the company website, there are quite a few notables who enjoy a scoop of the BR from time to time, including former President Barack Obama, Rosie O'Donnell, Bobby Flay, Julia Roberts, Eric Dane, and Randy Quaid to name a few. Baskin-Robbins clearly has enough flavors — more than 1,000 to be exact — to please ice cream lovers, including their most in-demand flavors, which include: Mint Chocolate Chip, Pralines 'n Cream, Chocolate Chip, Jamoca Almond Fudge, and Pistachio Almond. Just the thought of all this creamy deliciousness is giving us the "you scream, I scream, we all scream for ice cream" vibes.

But, while Baskin-Robbins has plenty of options to please the pickiest of ice cream flavor aficionados, if you follow a kosher diet, there is one flavor that you will absolutely want to steer clear of when ordering up your favorite frozen treat. And, while this one is definitely a beloved flavor, we can confirm that, luckily, it is not in Baskin-Robbins top 5 selling flavors.

Kosher fans of Rocky Road will need to find a detour

Per Healthline, eating kosher means that you are adhering to very strict "dietary standards of traditional Jewish law" that relate to how foods are "produced, processed, and prepared." And this most certainly affects ice cream. According to Baskin-Robbins' website, the only flavor that they sell that is not considered losher is the chocolatey, marshmallowy, and nutty flavor that we call Rocky Road. Yep, it's true. Baskin-Robbins shares that all of their ice creams, with the exception of this one, are certified Star D Kosher. 

But it is not the only ice cream that has fallen under this category. The Daily Meal points out that, at one point, the flavor Pink Bubble Gum was not kosher; however, according to, this beloved childhood favorite that makes parents wince has been "reformulated" and now also has the Star D certification.

What makes Baskin-Robbins Rocky Road ice cream not kosher? The company site doesn't say, but The Daily Meal suggests that it could be related to gelatin as an ingredient. Healthline shares that, for dairy to be kosher, it can't be blended with any ingredient derived from meat and gelatin comes from collagen which comes from, you guessed it, animals. So, if you follow a kosher diet and want to indulge with some Baskin-Robbins, skip the Rocky Road, but all of the other flavors are fair game.