The Gluten-Free Starbucks Refreshers You Need To Know About

Those who follow a gluten-free diet, or those who know someone who does, are aware of how challenging it can be to avoid gluten when eating out. Gluten, a protein found most commonly in wheat, barley, and rye, makes its way into many more foods than any of us would think.

The Celiac Disease Foundation notes that gluten can be found in just about anything, including bread, candy, beer, food coloring, and many condiments. Who would ever expect a sealed-up package of deli meat to ruin your gluten-free diet?

While food products at the grocery store are required by law to disclose all allergens on their packaging, VeryWell Health says this extends only to listing 'wheat' on the label. And as we now know, wheat is far from the only ingredient containing gluten.

This same problem extends to restaurants. Because gluten can appear in so many different ingredients, going out for dinner or even for drinks calls for menu research. As far as Starbucks refreshers go, we've got you covered.

Most of Starbucks' refreshers are gluten-free

If you're avoiding gluten, even drinks are subject to suspicion. Fortunately, there are plenty of gluten-free options. Starbucks, for example, has a large number of coffees, teas, frappuccinos, refreshers, and other beverages that are gluten-free before add-ins.

Starbucks Refreshers are, as the name suggests, a refreshing fruit drink. Not only are they popular during the warmer months, but these drinks are also a viable option for those following a gluten-free diet. According to Delish, most of the Starbucks refreshers are gluten-free, including the popular Pink Drink and Kiwi Starfruit refresher, as well as the Dragon Drink, the Mango Dragonfruit Lemonade refresher, and the Strawberry Acai refresher.

Other gluten-free refreshers include the Very Berry Hibiscus refresher, the Violet Drink, the Kiwi Starfruit Lemonade refresher, the Very Berry Hibiscus Lemonade refresher, the Mango Dragonfruit refresher, the Star Drink, and the Strawberry Acai Lemonade refresher. To be sure, you can check the ingredients for each drink on the Starbucks website. 

It's also worth the extra step, especially when following a strict gluten-free policy, ask your barista to make your beverage of choice in a clean container, to avoid any potential cross-contact.