Are McDonald's McFlurries Dairy-Free?

It's not a coincidence that "I'm loving it" is the slogan of McDonald's — there's a lot to love at the iconic fast food chain. Go for the classic cheeseburger that the Golden Arches was founded on, the Big Mac with its cult-favorite secret sauce, or the famous french fries with their perfect amount of salty crispiness. McDonald's' breakfast is just as beloved by customers, whether you prefer a juicy Egg McMuffin or a platter of pancakes.

For those McDonald's fans with a sweet tooth, there are now-classic menu items like chocolate chip cookies, baked apple pies, cones, and more, says the company's website. However, there's one menu item that can't be overlooked: the McFlurry. Similar in consistency and texture to a milkshake, it comes in a variety of flavors, including Oreo, M&M, and Reese's Peanut Butter Cup. It's arguably the fast food giant's most popular dessert, but is it for everyone?

Milk and cream are two key ingredients in a McFlurry

If you are vegan, lactose-intolerant, or simply trying to avoid eating dairy, the answer, unfortunately, is no. A McFlurry is not quite a milkshake, but not quite ice cream, which has many people debating whether or not it even includes dairy at all. On McDonald's "Your Right To Know" page, where customers can ask the brand anything, one fan questioned whether McFlurries are dairy-free. Sadly, according to the response, they're not. "Our ice cream is not lactose free," a McDonald's representative explained. "It is made of powdered milk, cream, sugar and glucose."

A former McDonald's employee confirmed on Reddit that there is in fact plenty of dairy in a McFlurry: "I worked at McDonalds for 2 years ... [a McFlurry] is most definitely the same low-fat ice cream that they make all of their delicious treats out of." You'll find a similar answer if you look at the ingredients section of the McFlurry on McDonald's website. The number one item is labeled as "milk ingredients" (third is "modified milk ingredients," right after sugar) and the description clearly states, "Contains milk." Sorry, vegans.