Everything We Know About 'The Great Food Truck Race: All-Stars'

Cooking competition fans will be happy to know that the Food Network will debut an all-stars version of its popular show, "The Great Food Truck Race," on June 6, 2021. According to a press release from the Food Network, the special, six-episode series brings back seven winning teams from past seasons of the show to determine the ultimate Food Truck Race champion. Like the original series, "All Stars" is hosted by Tyler Florence, star of popular food shows such as "The Best Thing I Ever Ate" and "Worst Cooks in America." 

Shot entirely in the San Francisco Bay area, this is the first time the "Food Truck" franchise will take place in a single geographic region, according to The Mercury News. The location is well-known territory for Florence, who owns Wayfare Tavern in San Francisco and resides in Mill Valley, about 14 miles outside the city. "California is where the food truck trend first exploded and we are excited to bring these fan-favorite teams back to where it all began for this fierce culinary race," said Courtney White, President, Food Network and Cooking Channel in the statement.

'All Stars' was filmed in the Bay Area

As with the original series, which debuted in 2010 (via IMDb), competing teams in "The Great Food Truck Race: All Stars" will have to bring their A-games in both cooking and marketing because they're going to be judged by how much money their trucks pull in. The lowest-earning team gets the boot at the end of each episode in this cutthroat competition.

The season begins at the iconic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco with a challenge described as "a bread bowl battle." The event will test the teams' selling skills, according to the Food Network's news release, and will deliver the contestants their food truck keys. In this competition, "a small decision has huge consequences and a surprising team is sent home," teases the network.

Subsequent episodes will take the competing teams of food truck operators to picturesque settings throughout the area, including Napa Valley for a grape-stomping event; the Redwoods for a foraging competition; Ocean Beach for a seafood challenge; the Chase Center arena, home to the Golden State Warriors basketball team for a special hoop-shooting contest; and finally to San Francisco's Chinatown, where one team will be named the All-Star champion and awarded $50,000.

'All Stars' brings back the best 'Great Food Truck Race' competitors

The winning "Great Food Truck Race" teams competing in "All Stars" include: Aloha Plate — Lanai City, Hawaii (Lanai Tabura, Adam Tabura, Shawn Felipe); The Lime Truck — Irvine, California (Daniel Shemtob, Jesse Brockman, Mark Esposito); The Middle Feast — Los Angeles, California (Tommy Marudi, Daniella Marudi, Gabriel Villagrana); Mystikka Masala — Santa Monica, California (Andrew Pettke, Navin Hariprasad, Doug Long); NOLA Creations — Shreveport, Louisiana (Darrell Johnson, Aunna Johnson, Terrell Gaskin); Seoul Sausage — Los Angeles, California (Ted Kim, Yong Kim, Han Hwang), and Waffle Love — Provo, Utah (Adam Terry, Jared Terry, Steve Terry), according to the Food Network news release.

"The Great Food Truck Race: All Stars" premieres on Sunday, June 6th, 2021 at 9:00 pm ET/PT on the Food Network and streams the same day on Discovery+. The series finale will air on Sunday, July 18th at 9:00 pm ET/PT. Fans can reacquaint themselves with the competing teams and explore the Bay Area food scene with Tyler Florence at FoodNetwork.com/FoodTrucks.